The ongoing search of Major Acree’s ancestors.

It has been awhile since my last post, but I am still searching for my 4th great-grandfather Major Acree’s ancestors. Since the last post, I found a 3rd cousin Acree on 23andme  DNA. He is a male from a lineage of Acree men.  We share Robert Acree as our 2nd great grandfather.  His paternal haplogroup is E1b1b1a4, which is found in Morroco and Libya. The haplogroup did not confirm the father to son lineage to William Acree (c1710-c1767) of Hanover Co., Virginia. This leads me to believe that the Acree name was the surname of  Major’s mother and not the actual surname of Major’s father. So why do I still think I am a descendant of William Acree (c1710-c1767) of Hanover Co., Virginia. Due to DNA testing, my Major Acree’s descendants are sharing DNA with several descendants of his sons John, Abraham, and William Acree 1 in the chart below.

The first five men are presumed sons of William Acree (c1710-c1767) of Hanover Co., Virginia.

John Acree Joshua Acree Abraham Acree Isaac Acree William Acree 1 William Acree 2 Jacob Acra
will will Bible record will will Pension record Church record
Sons: Sons: Sons: Sons: Sons: Sons: Sons:
Edward* William* John* Isaac Jr. William Jr. John* John
John Jr.* Joshua Jr. James* Joshua* Shearin William Jr.* William
William* David* William Abraham John* Ephraim* Thomas*
Henly* Carter Ambrose* Peter
Leonard John* Joel
Amos

Courtesy  Charles Acree.  A Family Tree  Acree/Sachse/Hoover/Ogden/ Skipworth/Nelson/TenEyck/Williamson & Associated Families

There are two scenarios, Major’s mother might have been one of the men above daughter of European descent or his mulatto daughter. Mulatto being that her mother was of Native American/ African descent/European combination.  Major was listed as multiple race on his marriage license. Major and his family lived as Native American.

Thanks to my cousins Oscar “Bunky” Chapman Jr and his daughter Deybra Chapman, I  received a picture of my great-grandfather William Oliver Acree.

                             Acree real WilliamOliverdea60da7-108e-43c0-87ed-06c453a57805

8 thoughts on “The ongoing search of Major Acree’s ancestors.

  1. Laura Johnson Blanks

    I believe that we may be distant relatives. Do the names of Jurentha Acree, Major Mom Acree, Major Acree, Nancy Carter,Rachel Carter fit in your family history….from Caroline and King and Queen Virginia? These are my people.

    Reply
  2. Sadie Acree

    Could Major have been a military rank which became a name. Acrees and Martins often became known by Col., Major, Lieutent, etc. Acrees & Martins were in Hanover and Caroline for decades.
    They married each for 300 years.Shared first names. It becomes confusing who is who between the 2 families. if you are an Acre/Acree descendant, you have close Martin relatives.
    Sadie Acree, Georgia

    Reply
    1. Stephani Juleeana Miller Post author

      Hello Cousin Sadie, thank you for your suggestion about the Major, but in this case, his first name was Major. Yes, I am an Acree descendant and I do know some of my Georgia’s Martin cousins that are related to the Acrees.

      Reply
  3. tywanam72

    I am an ancestor. My great grandmother was Lizzie Acree Johnson Martin. I have been desperately trying to find a picture of her and her 2nd husband, John B Martin. She was first married to Frank Johnson.

    Reply
  4. Orride "Thomas" Broaddus

    Hello I am also a descendant of Lizzie Acree. I ran my tree and I have William Acree (1691) His Son was William J Acree (1710) His Son was Abraham Acree (1735) Son John W Acree (1760) Son Major Acree (1780) his sons were John (1830) Thomas (1827) Ruffin Acree (1826)

    Reply

Leave a comment